A random trip to Hogwarts

What do you do after school ends?  Why go to another school, Hogwarts school that is.  The Wizarding World of Harry potter recently opened at Universal Studios Hollywood and me being the none Harry Potter fan, just had to go. Follow along if you dare.

I am going to be 100% honest with you, I have never read the books, never saw the movies in theaters, and definitely don’t know the difference between slytherin and Hufflepuff.  Yes, I have seen the movies and yes they are mildly entertaining.  But no I am not into dragons, so this was an outsider’s (Muggle) point of view.

IMG_4279

Even before I crossed the gates into Hogsmead I knew I was in a magical place.  I saw people of all ages dressed up in Hogwarts uniforms with wands at the ready in case any dementors decided to show up and ruin the fun.  Luckily none showed up, unless you consider crying babies dementors.

The first stop was in trying out the famous Butter Beer.  All I knew was that it had the word “beer” in the name so I was fair game, unfortunately there was no alcohol, but instead was loaded IMG_4249with sugar.  Being a hot day I decided to go with the frozen version.  It was definitely a sweet concoction that tasted like butterscotch topped with sweet cream on top.  I wasn’t expecting to enjoy the beverage, but I did, so much that I got a second mug of the stuff later on before I left.

There were two rides at the place, and I will be honest and say that the only one worth waiting in line for is Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey.  It is a mix between live action and 3d imagery.  You ride through the Harry Potter world in a seat with your feet dangling.  It is pretty awesome, and you get to go throughout all of Hogwarts as well as partake in a game of Quidditch.  Overall a fun ride that I would go on again.  The Flight of the Hippogriff is a mild (very mild) roller coaster that I would have enjoyed if I was maybe 12, so as an adult it comes up very short.

IMG_4280

After a few beers at Moe’s Tavern in Springfield, I returned to Hogsmeade and made my way to the Three Broomsticks for a magical meal.  As you can see I ordered the Beef Sunday roast which was prime rib with potatoes and vegetables.  Surprisingly for a theme park the food was actually pretty decent, and you can also order butter beer, or actual beer to go alongside your meal.

IMG_4240

Overall, I would visit the Wizarding World of Harry potter again.  I have never been to the Florida location so I can’t compare the two, but to me it seems like the Hollywood version might be smaller than the Florida location based on the website’s info. In any case, if you are in Ca and don’t plan on flying to the swamps of Florida anytime soon, come to Hollywood and enjoy a butter beer or two!!    EXPECTO PATRONUM!!!!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

